Winter Camp Logo

Winter Camp Universe
Hall of Honor

The most successful chapter event in the history of the Order of the Arrow

What's Next?

Winter Camp Planning on Zoom
Friday, November 27, 2020 at 1:00pm
Online Meeting via Zoom
Meeting ID: 935 9010 8964
Passcode: 4832240

Winter Camp / Reference / Honors / Hall of Honor

Hall of Honor

Winter Campers have an impact beyond just Winter Camp. This page shows a variety of awards earned by Winter Campers over the years.

Winter Camp Participation Award

The Winter Camp Participation Award is intended to encourage youth members to participate in Winter Camp. It includes a special gold-bordered patch which adults are not allowed to handle.

Centurion Award

The Centurion Award aims to highlight “Hometown Heroes,” or those Arrowmen who have meaningfully contributed to the forming, maturing and ongoing operational excellence of their local council’s lodge, and who, in doing so, have or will have inspired others to follow in their footsteps. This award is a one-time recognition associated with the centennial anniversary of the OA that is bestowed by the national Order of the Arrow committee. It is modeled after a similar program in the BSA’s 100th anniversary celebration, the 2010 National Hall of Leadership.Accordingly, this recognition is an opportunity to highlight lodge development over the last century and the many individuals, both youth and adult, who were instrumental to this success. Centurion Award honorees will serve as exemplars of leadership, modeling to others a commitment to cheerful service as the Order of the Arrow enters its second century of service.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award (DSA) is a national Order of the Arrow award created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to Arrowmen, youth and adult, who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented at National Order of the Arrow Conferences. Since the time the first awards were presented, less than 1000 Distinguished Service Awards have been awarded.

Dan Ling Service Award

This section C2A award was presented to outstanding leaders in the section.

Servant Leader

Awarded for outstanding service to the Section.

Founder's Award

The Founder's Award is a national recognition awarded by lodges. In Mi-Gi-Si O-Paw-Gan Lodge, it was awarded to a youth and an adult member who were deemed to have made the most outstanding contributions to the Lodge.

This award recognizes the founders of the Order of the Arrow: Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson.

Arrowman of the Year

The Arrowman of the Year Award recognized a youth and an adult member who are judged to have made the most significant contributions to Mi-Gi-Si O-Paw-Gan Lodge.

This award was replaced by the Harold Oatley Service Award in 1989.

Oatley Service Award

The Harold Oatley Service Award recognized a youth and an adult member who are judged to have made the most significant contributions to Mi-Gi-Si O-Paw-Gan Lodge.

This award replaced the Arrowman of the Year Award in 1989. It honored Harold Oatley who in his many years of service, provided a character model for youth and adult alike. Mr. Oatley served three Michigan Order of the Arrow Lodges in many capacities, including Chapter and Lodge adviser.

Mr. Oatley was very involved in Downriver Chapter and troop 842. Most early Winter Campers knew him personally.

Robert Rutherford Award

The Robert Rutherford Service Award award recognizes those who give outstanding service to the Chapter or Lodge.

It was established in 1953 to honor Robert Rutherford, our second Lodge Chief whose life was taken during World War II.

Russel Neynaber Award

The Russel Neynaber Award was established in 1973 to honor Russell (Rusty) Neynaber, our twenty-ninth Lodge Chief of Mi-Gi-Si O-Paw-Gan. While on active duty in the U.S. Navy in 1972, he was accidentally killed when the jet on which he was a crew member exploded after takeoff.

This award recognizes the Lodge and Chapter officers who are responsible for achievement in the Order of the Arrow and the Lodge.

Extended Elangomat Award

This Mi-Gi-Si O-Paw-Gan lodge award recognized elangomats who successfully helped members of their clan fulfill the trail to Brotherhood, as well as encouraged others to serve as elangomats.

First Year Arrowman Award

The First Year Arrowman Award was intended to help new Arrowmen get a jump on becoming active members of Migisi Opawagan Lodge.

District Award of Merit

Available to registered Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level.

Silver Beaver

Recognizes registered Scouters of exceptional character who have provided distinguished service within a council.

NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The award was created to recognize notable Eagle Scouts who had either performed distinguished service at the local, state, or regional level or who were known nationally, but had not yet met the 25-year tenure as an Eagle for the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award. Often, worthy candidates for the NOESA have inspired others through their actions and have devoted a lifetime to their profession, avocation, community, and beliefs, at great sacrifice to themselves and their families.

Wood Badge

James E. West Fellowship

Awarded for financial contributions to the Council endowment fund.

Eagle Scout

Eagle Scout is the highest award in Scouting.

Quartermaster Award

The Quartermaster Award is the highest award in Sea Scouting.

Venturing Silver Award